Portalegre Tapestry Museum - Guy Fino (Museu da Tapeçaria de Portalegre - Guy Fino) opened in 2001 and is specifically dedicated to the presentation, conservation and study of a fundamental part of the national artistic heritage represented by Portalegre Tapestries. It is located in the Palace of the Counts of Castelo Branco. Established through the support of the Portuguese Institute of Museums and the Portalegre Tapestry Manufacturer, who contributed with a significant set of tapestry collections.
The Portalegre tapestry materialized in 1946, when Guy Fino and Manuel do Carmo Peixeir decided to make mural tapestry using an original stitch, the “Ponto de Portalegre”, invented by Manuel do Carmo Peixeiro. The collection includes works by a wide variety of over 200 artists, national and foreign, who have collaborated with the Portalegre Tapestry Manufacturer. To name a few: Almada Negreiros, Júlio Pomar, Vieira da Silva, Lourdes Castro, Joana Vasconcelos, Guilherme Camarinha, Le Corbusier, Jean Lurçat, and Malagantana. There are permanent and temporary exhibitions.